Jamaica Independence Day Nails 2014

Hi Everyone, Today Jamaica turns 52, Happy Independence day!

The Slavery Abolition Act on August 1, 1834 ended slavery in the British Empire but Jamaica didn’t receive independence from Britain until August 6, 1962.

IMG_8026

In this design I decided to include the Rastafarian colors which is also the color of the Ethiopian flag, which many rastas believe to be their homeland. Those colors are green, yellow and red, I took creative licence and also added black, because Rastafarianism is blended so much into the Jamaican culture.

IMG_8003

Polishes used OPI Need Sunglasses?, Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Going Green, Cherry Red, Black Out.

IMG_8034

I went around looking for a simpler green, couldn’t find one, anyone know of one please let me know. (I should have pick up a back up.)

IMG_8004

IMG_8005

IMG_2571

Thanks for reading!

-Kerri

7 thoughts on “Jamaica Independence Day Nails 2014

Leave a comment